What is life coaching?
FAQs

Learn more about what coaching is. Here I provided answers to the most frequently asked questions.

  • Is coaching right for me?

    Together with your personal coach you are working towards reinventing your life and reaching your goals. No matter whether you are dealing with lack of self-love, relationship trouble or need dating help – coaching even make problems seem sexy.

    Relationship coaching is right for you, if you are looking for solutions and are ready to take responsibility for your life. Reaching your goals with the help of feedback and support can be quicker than going at it alone.

  • Is coaching considered therapy or counseling?

    In short: No.

    Life Coaching ist not therapy and it also doesn’t replace it. This means anxiety, compulsive behaviors, addiction, depression and other illnesses are meant to be treated by doctors and therapists.

    Life Coaching ist not counseling in a sense that you are not getting a “roadmap” of exactly what to do. It is not technical advice that tells you each step to take. Instead, you and your personal coach are putting together an individual plan that is tailored to your goals. If desired, your personal coach may give you inspiration, tips and feedback, that you won’t be able to give yourself.

  • What does a coach do?

    A personal coach helps you find out how to improve your quality of life.

    Generally speaking: You are the expert for your own problems, as well as the right solution for them. A personal coach on the other hand is the professional that can assist with the process of implementing the solution. A personal coach supports you in developing and refining your solution. She or he helps you explore your potential, develop a vision and overcome challenges.

    Ultimately a personal coach is a mirror of the areas that you are unable to see on your own at the time.

  • What are the different topics coaching can help me work through?

    You can basically work on any area of your life. Whether you need help with confidence, or how to deal with other people or work-life balance. Patricia’s number one focus lays on making sure that you feel better at the end of the session.

  • How does a coaching session go?

    There is a short, no-obligation phone call that takes place beforehand, where the client clarifies his*her situation and the coach determines, if the topic is suitable for a coaching session.

    You are receiving an informational sheet that contains the written terms, such as the confidentiality agreement, etc.

    In the beginning, you and your personal coach are briefly getting to know each other.

    The coaching is holistic, which is why the first step is to gather information regarding your past, your goal and your motivation.

    Additionally we are evaluating you for possible blockages, for example, you may have inner (subconscious) limitation or hindering beliefs.

    Then it is time for the actual coaching conducted with different methods, tools and questions.

    In the end there might be a test to verify the effectiveness of the coaching.

    Often times there is „homework“, which is chosen by you and is meant to reinforce what you have learned during the sessions.

    After the third session there is a short evaluation, during which you can express your wishes to your personal coach in written form.

  • Do I have to be nervous before my coaching session?

    No. Since you are your own expert for your own issues, you are only going to go as deep as it’s comfortable for you. A good coach will never attempt to guide you into negative feelings on purpose. Everything that was talked about during a coaching session is confidential and won’t be made accessible to any third parties.

  • How often do you go to coaching sessions?

    Depending on the topic, you need anywhere between 3 to 5 sessions in order to thoroughly work through a topic. But usually the first session already brings noticeable improvements. The length of a session can vary depending on the individual person or topic. Generally everyone can decide for themselves how often they would like to come in for a session.

    To achieve consistent results for your life goals it is recommended to have a session every 2 – 3 weeks. One session usually lasts for 60 minutes, but it may go up until 90 minutes. This is based on your preference and on the ability to retain information. But since coaching “rearranges” a lot in your head, it is recommended that you allow yourself some rest after each coaching session. Don’t make any plans, just relax.

  • Where should coaching take place to be most effective?

    Coaching works best if you are somewhere where you feel comfortable and safe. Where that is, is up to you. Whether your session takes place at the comfortable coaching zone at your personal coach’s office or by phone or video chat. That totally depends on your preference and of course your willingness to travel. Effective coaching is possible with all three options.

  • Does coaching work? What is the current state of research?

    Coaching research is still a relatively young field of study and therefore there isn’t as much information out there. But in the meantime there are at least a few studies that have confirmed the positive effects of coaching.

    To make sessions particularly effective, coaching must do more than check the boxes for verbal and cognitive communication. It must also be based on emotions. If you want to make long-lasting changes on how you experience and live your life, you have to activate the limbic system of your brain, which is crucial for learning and feeling emotions.
    The NLP method is a proven technique from the area of psychology and is known to be very effective.

Coaching is sexy.
I want to experience it myself!

Was ist Life Coaching?
Das kleine FAQ

Erfahre mehr darüber, was Life Coaching ist. Hier habe ich für Dich die meist gestellten Fragen beantwortet.

  • Ist Life Coaching etwas für mich?

    Zusammen mit Deiner Life Coach arbeitest Du an wichtigen Schritten zur NeuGestaltung Deines Lebens und Erreichen Deiner Ziele. Egal ob fehlende Selbstliebe, Beziehungsfrust oder Dating-Hilfe – Coaching macht Probleme sexy.

    Coaching ist etwas für Dich, wenn Du nach Lösungen suchst und bereit bist die Verantwortung für Deine Lebensgestaltung zu übernehmen. Mit Feedback und Unterstützung auf Deinem Weg erreichst Du Dein Ziel in kürzerer Zeit als allein.

  • Ist Coaching eine Therapie oder Beratung?

    Ganz kurz: Nein.

    Life Coaching ist keine Therapie und ersetzt diese auch nicht. Das heißt das Behandeln von Ängsten, Zwängen, Süchten, Depressionen und anderen Krankheitsbildern sind Ärzt:innen bzw. Therapeut:innen vorbehalten.

    Life Coaching ist keine Beratung im dem Sinne, dass Du ein „Rezept“ bekommst, was genau zu tun ist. Es ist keine (technische) Fachberatung, in er Du belehrt wirst, wie Du vorgehen sollst. Vielmehr erarbeitest Du einen Plan für Deine Zielerreichung ganz individuell mit Deiner Personal-Coach. Wenn du möchtest, kann Dir ein Personal-Coach auch mal Inspirationen, Tipps und Feedback geben, die nicht von Dir kommen.

  • Was macht ein:e Coach?

    Ein:e Coach findet mit Dir zusammen heraus, was Deine Lebensqualität steigern könnte.

    Grundsätzlich gilt: Du bist Expert:in für Dein Problem sowie der „richtigen“ Lösung, ein Life Coach ist der Profi für die Prozessgestaltung der Lösung. Ein:e Coach begleitet Dich bei der Entwicklung Deiner Lösung. Sie:er verhilft Dir Dein Potential zu ergründen, Visionen zu entwickeln und Hindernisse zu beseitigen.

    Im Endeffekt ist ein:e Coach ein Spiegel für die Stellen in Dir, die Du selbst gerade nicht sehen kannst.

  • Welche Themen kann ich mit Coaching bearbeiten?

    Grundsätzlich kannst Du jedes Thema Deines Lebens bearbeiten – egal ob Selbstbewusstsein, Umgang mit anderen Menschen oder Work-Life-Balance. Bei Patricia liegt der Fokus ganz klar darauf, dass Du Dich am Ende einer Sitzung besser fühlst.

  • Wie läuft eine Coaching-Sitzung ab?

    Vorab gibt es ein kurzes unverbindliches Vorgespräch per Telefon, in dem der Auftrag geklärt wird, z.B. ob sich Dein Thema für ein Coaching eignet.

    Du erhältst ein Informationsblatt, in dem alle Modalitäten (z.B. Vertraulichkeit) verschriftlicht sind.

    Zu Beginn lernen Du und Deine Personal-Coach sich kurz kennen.

    Das Coaching ist ganzheitlich. Deshalb werden Informationen gesammelt zu Deinem Thema, wichtigen Ereignissen Deiner Vergangenheit, Deinem Ziel und Deiner Motivation.

    Zusätzlich werden mögliche Blockaden von Dir gecheckt, ggf. hast Du innere (unbewusste) Verbote oder hinderliche Glaubenssätze.

    Es folgt das eigentliche Coaching mit Hilfe verschiedener Methoden, Tools und Fragen.

    Zum Schluss erfolgt ggf. noch ein Test, um die Wirksamkeit des Coachings zu prüfen.

    Oft gibt es von Dir selbst gewählte „Hausaufgaben“, um das neu Gelernte zu festigen.

    Nach der dritten Sitzung gibt es eine kurze Evaluation, in der Du schriftlich Deine Wünsche an Deine Personal-Coach richten kannst.

  • Muss ich Angst vor einem Coaching haben?

    Nein. Da Du Expert:in für Deine Themen bist, wirst Du auch nur so tief gehen, wie es für Dich gut ist. Deine Personal-Coach wird niemals versuchen, Dich absichtlich tiefer in ein negatives Gefühl zu führen. Alles, was im Coaching besprochen wird, ist vertraulich und wird nicht an Dritte weitergegeben.

  • Wie oft geht man zum Coaching?

    Je nach Thema brauchst Du 3 bis 5 Sitzungen, um ein Thema zufriedenstellend zu behandeln. Normalerweise tritt schon nach der ersten Sitzung eine deutliche Besserung ein. Die Dauer eines Coachings richtet sich immer nach der jeweiligen Person bzw. dem Thema. Generell kann jede:r selbst entscheiden, wie oft man ein Coaching in Anspruch nehmen möchte.

    Für eine konsequente Arbeit an den eigenen Lebenszielen wird empfohlen sich alle 2 bis 3 Wochen coachen zu lassen. Eine Sitzung umfasst dabei in der Regel 60 Minuten, kann aber auch bis 90 Minuten dauern. Es ist auch möglich sich intensiv einen ganzen Tag oder ein Wochenende coachen zu lassen – ganz nach Geschmack und eigenen Aufnahmekapazitäten. Da beim Coaching jedoch viel im Kopf „umgebaut“ wird, solltest Du Dir nach einer Sitzung Erholung gönnen und Dir nicht zu viel danach vornehmen.

  • Welcher Ort eignet sich am besten für ein Coaching?

    Coaching wirkt dann am besten, wenn Du Dich wohl und sicher fühlst. Wo dies ist, liegt ganz bei Dir. Ob bei Deiner Personal-Coach vor Ort in der bequemen Coaching-Zone, per Telefon oder Video-Chat. Ganz nach eigenen Vorlieben und natürlich auch Deiner Ortsgebundenheit. Bei allen drei Möglichkeiten zeigt Coaching seine Wirkung.

  • Wirkt Coaching? Wie ist der Forschungsstand?

    Die Coaching-Forschung ist ein noch recht junges Forschungsgebiet und leider noch nicht so vielfältig wie die Coaching-Anwendungsfelder. Aber es gibt bereits einige Studien, die die positive Wirkung von Coaching bereits nachgewiesen haben. Für einen guten Überblick empfiehlt Patricia: Böning, U. & Kegel, C. (2015). Ergebnisse der Coaching-Forschung: Aktuelle Studien – ausgewertet für die Coaching-Praxis. Berlin: Springer.

    Wichtig für eine hohe Wirksamkeit ist es, dass das Coaching nicht nur auf einer kognitiven oder sprachlichen Ebene ansetzt, sondern auf Emotionen basiert. Möchte man das Erleben bzw. eigene Verhalten nachhaltig ändern, dann muss das limbische System im Gehirn aktiviert werden, das wesentlich für Lernen und Gefühle ist.
    Die im NLP angewandten Methoden sind vielfach aus psychologischen Anwendungsgebieten entnommen und haben eine bewiesene Wirksamkeit.

Coaching macht sexy.
Ich will es selbst erleben!